Sportswoman of the Year

Summer is almost gone, and voting for the 2005 Individual and Team Sportswoman of the Year Award has begun. This award is presented to two outstanding athletes whose performances during the past 12 months (August 1, 2004, through July 31, 2005) have been exceptional.

This year we received more than 35 nominations for Sportswoman of the Year from U.S. National Governing Bodies, International Federations, professional leagues, Women’s Sports Foundation members and the public. To check out the list of this year’s finalists, go to SportswomanVote. While you’re there don’t forget to check out their pictures, bios and, most importantly, to VOTE! Show your support by voting for your favorite female athletes.

You selected Annika Sorenstam and Misty May-Treanor and Kerri Walsh as the Sportswoman of the Year Award recipients last year. We won’t know who the 2005 Individual and Team Sportswoman of the Year Award winners will be until we hear from YOU. Don’t forget voting ends September 9, 2005.

Other past recipients of this prestigious award include Sue Bird, Bonnie Blair, Natalie Coughlin, Chris Evert, Mia Hamm, Sarah Hughes, Juli Inkster, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Michelle Kwan, Lisa Leslie, Martina Navratilova, Sheryl Swoopes and Serena and Venus Williams.

The award recipients will be announced on Monday, October 17, 2005, and honored at the Annual Salute to Women in Sports Awards Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.